---
mp3
who the?
where the?
how the?
what the?
What's Up?
Saga

Jan Not Jackson likes to think that they play old-school-HC with sprinkles of mid-tempo thrashcore that is at times on the experimental side. But who knows? Download the songs and make up your own fuckin mind.

The songs have a massive sound, and exceedingly fast riffs which are clear and precise. The singing is aggressive and unique. Breaking all traditional rules and boundries pushing Jan Not Jackson into the experimental.

The lyrics are mostly about personal experiences and problems which the singer seems to use as a therapeutic outlet. At times, the lyrics are socially and politically critical. At other times, topics that relate to the hardcore and punk scene are also in the mix.

 

The band got together for the first time in 1999 as a projekt. Gitarrist Jan Schulz and Sänger Jan Welke played together in the band "Cathode Ray Mission". That band was a bit like Cryptic Slaughter, D.R.I., or Attitude Adjustment. The bassist Robert Sommer had also played with Jan Welke in the band Indoctrinated. Gitarrist Deacon Dunlop who had other bands like Malicious Vandalism, Spoutmouth, Karbunkle, Fathead, and Lunk then joined Jan Not Jackson.

In 2001 the drummer Jan Weymanns got pregnant and left the band to become a full-time daddy. This was followed by a series of band line-ups. Hennrick Noack. took over on drums and a at the end of 2001 Jan Not Jackson put out a 3 song demo.

The end of 2002 saw the return of Jan Schultz but this time as drummer. Not long after that Ohyun Kwon joined the band as 2nd gitarrist.

In January 2005 Jan Not Jackson finally got into the studio with G&S Productions. The CD is titled "Jan Not Jackson". Although other titles such as "Thriller" and "Hand Me That Crutch were in the box of suggestions. Of the 9 songs 5 are stinkin new. Zero-self made onto the CD and is probably the first arrangement the band played together.

---
mp3
who the?
where the?
how the?
what the?
Was Phase Ist
Geschichte

Jan Not Jackson verbinden mit ihrer Musik Old-School-HC sowie Thrashcore mit Midtempo, metallischen, experimentellen und rockigen Einflüssen.

Mit ihrem massiven und heftigem Sound, der auch bei äußerst schnellen Passagen Klarheit und Prägnanz erkennen lässt bewegen sie sich mit ausgeprägter Experimentierfreude in musikalischen Extrembereichen, wobei dieser Eindruck durch den aggressiven und kompromißlosen Gesang zusätzlich verstärkt wird.

Textlich geht es vornehmlich um persönliche Erfahrungen und Probleme, die in den entsprechenden Songs ihre Verarbeitung finden, teilweise aber auch um die kritische Reflektion gesellschaftlicher und politischer Vorgänge. Darüber hinaus werden in den Texten häufig auch Entwicklungen thematisiert, die sich in der Hardcore- und Punkrock-Szene vollziehen.

 

Die Band wurde Ende des Jahres 1999 zunächst als Projekt gegründet. Gitarrist Jan Schulz und Sänger Jan Welke hatten zuvor in der Band Cathode Ray Mission gespielt, die sich musikalisch an Thrashcore-Bands wie Cryptic Slaughter, D.R.I. und Attitude Adjustment orientierten. Der zweite Gitarrist Deacon hatte zuvor in den Bands Malicious Vandalism, Spoutmouth, Karbunkle, Fathead, und Lunk gespielt. Der Bassist Robert Sommer hatte ebenfalls zuvor in verschiedenen Musikprojekten mitgewirkt, u.a. gemeinsam mit Sänger Jan Welke in der Band Indoctrinated.

Im Laufe des Jahres 2001 kam es bedingt durch das Ausscheiden Jan Weymanns aus der Band zu einer Reihe von Umbesetzungen. Den Schlagzeugpart übernahm in dieser Zeit zunächst Hennrick Noack. In dieser Besetzung wurde Ende 2001 ein 3 Songs umfassendes Demo aufgenommen.

Ende 2002 kam Jan Schultz in die Band zurück, übernahm aber von nun an den Schlagzeugpart. Kurze Zeit später stieß dann Ohyun Kwon als zweiter Gitarrist hinzu.

Im Februar 2005 fanden nun mit G&S Productions Studioaufnahmen statt. Die daraus entstandene CD trägt den Titel "Jan Not Jackson". Neben den 5 neuen der insgesamt 9 Songs finden sich ältere Songs aus der Frühzeit der Band, z.b. "zero-self".